Topic: Router level P2P control

Offline mattnz

• mattnz is working their way up.mattnz is working their way up.mattnz is working their way up.
So what sort of hardware do I need to block P2P traffic as completely as possible? i.e. more than blocking ports, putting the brakes on people downloading crazy data.

It's in a motel situation, and I need to do work, whereas the proprietors are concerned about copyright infringement. I have the technical skills to be able to set a system up, but I'm no network engineer, so would appreciate any input.

Posted: January 10, 2013, 08:45:46 pm
Now that you have read this, plz give me neg rep :>

Offline Lias

• Administrator
  • Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!Lias is awe-inspiring!
Quote from: mattnz;1514128
So what sort of hardware do I need to block P2P traffic as completely as possible? i.e. more than blocking ports, putting the brakes on people downloading crazy data.

It's in a motel situation, and I need to do work, whereas the proprietors are concerned about copyright infringement. I have the technical skills to be able to set a system up, but I'm no network engineer, so would appreciate any input.

Not strictly speaking my area of expertise, but the short answer is WAY more than they are going to want to spend.

The much cheaper option is buy something like a Zenbu router,  and give out free access vouchers to customers.

Reply #1 Posted: January 10, 2013, 10:12:33 pm

Codex

Or you could put a smoothwall or other firewall pc or even install it on a rasppi and place it between the router and wan link/internet link.

Reply #2 Posted: January 10, 2013, 10:44:11 pm

Offline Spigalau