Poll

Are Bank fees reasonable? Or to harsh?

They are reasonable.
6 (25%)
They are too much. Greedy banks.
13 (54.2%)
I don't trust banks, I keep all my cash under my pillow.
0 (0%)
I'm a bacon trader.
5 (20.8%)

Total Members Voted: 23

Topic: Bank Fees

Offline Apostrophe Spacemonkey

• Fuck this title in particular.

• Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!Apostrophe Spacemonkey is awe-inspiring!
It's been in the news recently, this group http://www.fairplayonfees.co.nz is going up aginst the bank (first up ANZ) in a law suit regarding the exception fees banks charged (i.e Unexpected overdraft, dishonour fees , usually around $10 to $30)

25,000 people have signed up so far.

I have mixed opinions about it. I agree with the group on the fact, that a $15 fee for an unexpected overdraft for example, if far larger then the cost to the bank.

However, I've been with ANZ all my life (first with ANZ, changed to National Bank, now back to ANZ). And I haven't really had any problems with them. During my student days, where I was continually short of money, I certainly got hit with these fees. AP would be due, but there wasn't enough in my account, I get charged a fee (as well as the inconvenienced of sorting out the unpaid bill). Of course getting a fee always sucks.

However ANZ has also given me an interest free $2000 overdraft because I was a student.